Ranil Wickremesinghe Elected as New President of Sri Lanka

Ranil Wickremesinghe elected as the 8th Executive President of Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka on 20th July 2022 in the Parliament.

Ranil Wickremesinghe, Dullas Alahapperuma,Anura Kumara Dissanayake proposed for the vacancy of the Presidency, with the resignation of former President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

To elect a president for the remaining period of former President Gotabaya Rajapaksa a secret voting made in the Parliament today (20).

In the end of voting elected as the New President of  Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.

President Election Parliament Voting Details

Ranil Wickremesinghe134
Dullas Alahapperuma82
Anura Kumara Dissanayake03
Total Votes223
Abstained Votes02
Casted Votes221
Invalid Votes04
Valid Votes219

Leave a Comment